The Diet Groove

Diet Day 6, July 14th and Diet Day 7, July 15th

I didn’t exercise for these two days. I had unexpected company over on Saturday which led to a late night which led to a lazy morning. I did however, not break my diet. I also, powered through the weekend without drinking. That’s one of the conditions in my health thing.

Drinking alcohol really slows down your metabolism. Not to mention how you feel the next day, you may be hung over. Plus, the dehydration drinking puts you through. Of course there are calories too. You would be surprised how many calories are in a single beer. When my fitness guru told me a typical beer is 300 and something calories i said ” whattt, that’s almost a fucking meal!”. So I gave up drinking for this health thing.

It’s not like I’m an alcoholic. But, I got used to having a few drinks when I’m entertaining company. Or even just trying to relax and decompose myself. Nothing is better than an ice cold brew in the hot summer heat. It’s one stereotype I can’t help but fall into. I’m a 20 something year old and I love to drink.

But, for the sake of my health, I’m not. And I think I did spectacular for my first weekend.

What had me worried the most though was Sunday morning. My mother cooks a big breakfast… eggs, bacon, hash browns and we get bagels and rolls freshly baked from the bakery. I’m started many diets over the past months, and if I made it to the weekend, I always broke for Sunday breakfast.

But, I survived the bacon test. I indulged a little bit, had one egg on my whole grain bread with cheese. My mouth was so freaking happy. I actually was full half way through the sandwich but I ended up nibbling my way through to finish it off. Couldn’t bear to waste it, especially knowing I’m on a diet and that’s the most exciting meal I’ve had in days.

After that indulgent, it was surprisingly easy to stay strict on a diet.

I was talking to my fitness guru and he told me to cheat. Not binge eat cheat but I will have more success on a diet if I cheat. But, I’m having trouble wrapping my head around that. He told me my body is going through deprivation of sorts, especially since I’m doing a real intense diet. Almost a vegetarian diet. But, the portion control and low carb combined with that…absolutely no junk food or soda. My guru told me the first thing that’s going to happen to me, maybe in another couple of days, is I’m going to go into insulin shock. My body is going to crave sugar and I’m going to find myself on the kitchen floor eating 12 pieces of chocolate or candy.

And, I can picture myself doing just that. But, I didn’t cheat. I drink coffee and there is sugar in my coffee. Some of the fruits I eat have sugar in them so I just ate an additional fruit after my chat with him.

It’s just a reminder. Everyone is different. Everyone’s body is different. What works for one person may not work for another. Which is why I started my health thing in near secret. The hassle and “advice” and criticism of others will make you lose your damn mind. Don’t be a fool, do your research and try different things and find something that works for you. For me, I’m just finding my diet groove.

I survived my first week of diet and exercise and it wasn’t completely miserable.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Corner of Confessions

My writings will tell my tale

Leave a Reply

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

#OhSoRobbie

Documenting the #dating journey and seeing what is learned along the road. I don't think it matters who you date nor who you love, the issues, comparabilities and blissfulness seems to cross all lines. Dating is #dating. Love is #love. Compatibility Rules!

howtothehway

Come with me as I start over.. My way

This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time

"Never forget it is real people who live out such tales and bear the price of the telling, in grief and guilt and sorrow". -Jacqueline Carey

Coach Daddy

It's about fatherhood, futbol, and food.

Lorelai Losing It

I'm 19 and the only way I make sense of life is to write it down.

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Edwina's Episodes

A light-hearted look at life - in all its glory!

Her Headache

A place to express myself through writing. a way to make sense of it all. Life as I see it.

All In A Dad's Work

A part time stay home dad enjoying (nearly) every minute of it...

Ask Jana Leigh

Let's have a little girl talk ;)

Mental Break - In Progress

Please hold while I direct your call...

DebWasHere

Because you need more than my fingerprints

World of Horror

A place for writers and book lovers

In Love With An Inmate

He told me it wasn't going to be easy; he was right.

LetsFuckingBlog

My rambling thoughts about nothing special

Jeremy's Journey

Living with brain cancer

survivor road

a survivor of childhood sexual abuse

city winds

i'm no artist; i'm just messy.

life and love

my attempt at life and love, the ups and downs and the boring bits in between.

Bitch Fit

In our world, divide and conquer must become define and empower. - Audre Lorde

Poorly Thought Out Thoughts

You don't have to say everything that pops into your head, but you can blog about it.

The Fallen Angel Mommy

Here I will blog about my life, and any subject im passionate about (Probably quite a bit about my child, and any future children) I will use this site to vent my feelings, share thoughts and ideas, and meet new people. Criticism is welcome, and encouraged. Please be brutal.

The Write Perspective

One author's journey...

The Big Girl's Guide

To Love, Sex and Self Confidence

Do you work here? --- H.M.Peña

Much ado about retail.

TELEMAZING

By TV Fans. For TV Fans.

