Excuses Rejected, Challenge Accepted

Week 5
Day31 August 6th 2012  –   Day 38 Sunday August 12th 2012

My excuse for lack of commitment to diet and exercise was always the same- real life.  Real life gets busy and hectic. But, I finally understand. It’s an excuse.

When I was a full time college student, that’s all I was- a full time college student. I spent 3 hours commuting, up to ten hours on campus and  several hours at night doing homework/studying. I barely slept.  I always told myself that’s what a full time student does. Here’s the kicker… OTHER people are full time students as well… but they are also full time parents and/or full time employees.  I complained of being busy with school? Being busy with life? Well a lot of people are busy. It’s no excuse.

Old habits die hard. This week I struggled with “real life” and sticking to my diet and exercise routine.
I had some incidents and I had to scamper around and fill out applications and arrange paperwork and yadda yadda yadda. Then I got some bad news. For those of you that read my other blog, I wrote all about it, it’s about my neighbor that passed away. So I spent some time with my family, my neighbors and finally at a wake.  So Monday, I ate bad by not eating at all. Which was my number one bad habit a month ago.  Not eating is terrible on my metabolism.  For a sluggish metabolism like me? Eating is good. Not eating makes my body go in starvation mood and hoard fat.

I did various levels of bike exercise every day. Some days a “good” workout with a good “calorie burned” ratio. Other days…not so much.  My dad restocked my diet supplies so I was pretty good with my diet. I actually started integrating “regular”  food into my diet. I was striving for making “healthy” meals opposed to “restricting diet” meals.  For instance, one day I had 3 hot wings ( the frozen kind that comes in a bag) with a portioned cup of brown rice and veggies on the side. Not bad at all.  I was throwing in these “healthy meals” sporadically throughout the week.

I only went to the park once this week with a friend on Friday. When I came home I had to play catch up on all the house chores and cleaning since I was running around all week.  And a funny thing happened.

I was on a rampage. I was cleaning and cleaning and I wasn’t really tired. Usually I would do one task, take a break  or walk my dog or something leisurely then move on to the next task. But I was just a cleaning machine.

Yes, I have been cleaning since I started my health thing, but not to the extent I was doing it Friday.  I mean I fell really behind on everything…sweeping, vacuuming, dusting, garbage , restocking shelves, de-cluttering, laundry, folding clothes , had to change the sheets and pillow cases. So I was just knocking tasks out straight through to get everything done before it was time to feed my dog and then get dinner started.

I couldn’t remember the last time I had that much energy to do consecutive tasks. It felt really good to be able to be active. Also, to accomplish so much was a great feeling too.

But, I think I did go a little over board cause I was feeling faint when I finished. I think I burned off too many calories too soon … I mean I did work out in the park and then came straight home to cleaning escapades.  So, it was a lot.

I ate dinner and I felt tons better.

That Friday night, I slept cuddling with feelings of accomplishment and it was the best sleep I’ve had in a long time.

Not to mention, when getting dressed for the wake, I fit into clothes that hasn’t fit me since last summer. That’s comfort personified.

Overall and looking back, it was an interesting week. This week challenged me (or is making me aware) to handle myself in a constant flux environment.  Anything is easy when it stays the same.  To adapt to change and learn to go with the flow…. That’s the real challenge.  It seems that’s where this journey is taking me.

 

EDIT: I was having problems with my scale this week. Every single time i stepped on it it would read a different number in like a 20 pound radius. I broke the scale or time for a new one…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Corner of Confessions

My writings will tell my tale

Leave a Reply

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

#OhSoRobbie

Documenting the #dating journey and seeing what is learned along the road. I don't think it matters who you date nor who you love, the issues, comparabilities and blissfulness seems to cross all lines. Dating is #dating. Love is #love. Compatibility Rules!

howtothehway

Come with me as I start over.. My way

This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time

"Never forget it is real people who live out such tales and bear the price of the telling, in grief and guilt and sorrow". -Jacqueline Carey

Coach Daddy

It's about fatherhood, futbol, and food.

Lorelai Losing It

I'm 19 and the only way I make sense of life is to write it down.

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Edwina's Episodes

A light-hearted look at life - in all its glory!

Her Headache

A place to express myself through writing. a way to make sense of it all. Life as I see it.

All In A Dad's Work

A part time stay home dad enjoying (nearly) every minute of it...

Ask Jana Leigh

Let's have a little girl talk ;)

Mental Break - In Progress

Please hold while I direct your call...

DebWasHere

Because you need more than my fingerprints

World of Horror

A place for writers and book lovers

In Love With An Inmate

He told me it wasn't going to be easy; he was right.

LetsFuckingBlog

My rambling thoughts about nothing special

Jeremy's Journey

Living with brain cancer

survivor road

a survivor of childhood sexual abuse

city winds

i'm no artist; i'm just messy.

life and love

my attempt at life and love, the ups and downs and the boring bits in between.

Bitch Fit

In our world, divide and conquer must become define and empower. - Audre Lorde

Poorly Thought Out Thoughts

You don't have to say everything that pops into your head, but you can blog about it.

The Fallen Angel Mommy

Here I will blog about my life, and any subject im passionate about (Probably quite a bit about my child, and any future children) I will use this site to vent my feelings, share thoughts and ideas, and meet new people. Criticism is welcome, and encouraged. Please be brutal.

The Write Perspective

One author's journey...

The Big Girl's Guide

To Love, Sex and Self Confidence

Do you work here? --- H.M.Peña

Much ado about retail.

TELEMAZING

By TV Fans. For TV Fans.

