Love Makes Its Better

Week 6
Day 39 Monday August 13th 2012 – Day  45  Sunday  August 19th 2012

Something happened this week. It started off slowly and I only recognize it now while looking back to write this entry.   My heart wandered away from the fierce motivation and dedication I have been harboring since week 1. It went where it always goes- to my fiancée.

Monday, I stuck to the diet plan mostly and even worked out lightly on the bike. But, like I said, my heart wasn’t into it.  My nerves were a wreck and I was so filled with anxiety and anticipation.

It must be that time that.

Doctor checkup time.

And it was. Wednesday the fiancée FINALLY had all his appointments rearranged.  It’s been hell and nonstop issues and stress with his insurance/benefits/ disability. But, his insurance was finally fixed and I was able to commit to his MRI’s/blood work/doctor checkup routine appointments.

Naturally, this is where my focused diverted every waking moment. As the appointment date grew closer, I grew more anxious. Never fails. It’s all internal of course.  But, writing this blog and reflecting I realize that’s what took my attention away from myself. My heart and mind and soul was filled with worry for my love.  Running through all the scenarios, preparing for anything the doctors may throw at us, we have been blindsided before.  I think its more of a defensive mechanism. Worry, stress be upset or even cry if I need to…because once inside the doctors office we have absolutely no clue what can happen. For the past two years we have been told some wild things ( yes , even wilder than a cancer diagnosis ).  Believe it or not, never once have I cried in a doctor office. Maybe a tear or two while transferring rooms. But, never cried or lost my cool. I need to be clear and level headed both for the doctors and for my hubby.  If something is wrong, arrangements need to be made and to do that efficiently and accurately I need that focus even if its forced.

So, I go through my pre-doctors mourning stage. Updating and doubling checking Omar’s medical book, making a list of all his health mishaps and symptoms since we’ve last visited the doctors.  Cancer. It sucks. Sometimes it’s hard to distinguish regular sickness from cancer sickness. Sometimes, more often than not, they overlap.  Sickness is usually caused because of the cancer. But, it all has to be relayed.

This got more cancer- y than I expected. Didn’t mean to go off topic and divulge so much. But, Monday and Tuesday was filled with this. Wednesday was the actual appointments, and for once everything went smoothly and quicker than usual and we didn’t get heart crushing news.  Disconcerting, yes. But, nothing bad and even some good…they even lowered his medications dosage!

But, I don’t regret the lack of exercise. I mostly stuck to the diet, I don’t recall cheating (Nothing written done in my notes either, I’m usually good with that but then again I was otherwise distracted). Plus, I exercised other mental demons. Which is just as detrimental to your health as food.

Thursday started with a much lighter mind and heart.  I was freer of mind but so worn out from all the mental turmoil.  So my bestie came over and we went to the park together. We actually  decided to go off the main road and try the hiking trail through the woods.  It was a MUCH better work out and the seclusion away with my bestie was a godsend.

Friday, Saturday and Sunday I went to the park everyday but I started straying from the diet…mostly because my mother cooked. Hey, Guyanese food  vs diet. Even if I wasn’t on a diet …to pass up a home cooked West Indian meal? It’s a tough call to make.

And since my heart was battered this week, I just didn’t have the fight in me.

I just wanted a lazy few days of absolutely nothing but trash TV , my love and my dog.

Even if the doctor didn’t prescribe this , I was taking it anyway.


My dog, melts your heart and always makes you feel better. We thought we rescued her a year ago, but truth be told be, she rescues us everyday.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Corner of Confessions

My writings will tell my tale

4 responses to “Love Makes Its Better”

  1. pinkice85 says :

    Tasha, you are such a strong and inspirational person. I admire your strength so much! I wish we lived closer to each other bc I could use you in my life more. I miss talking to you!

    Now to comment on the post. I’m so happy I hear that they lowered his dosage. Clearly that’s a good sign! As for not exercising much, it’s no biggie. Sometimes you just need to take a break and relax 🙂

  2. Terri says :

    This is good and look at bianca’s cute face.

  3. diet solution program book says :

    Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the internet the simplest thing to take into account of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while other folks consider concerns that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the entire thing with no need side effect , other folks can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thank you

Leave a Reply

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

#OhSoRobbie

Documenting the #dating journey and seeing what is learned along the road. I don't think it matters who you date nor who you love, the issues, comparabilities and blissfulness seems to cross all lines. Dating is #dating. Love is #love. Compatibility Rules!

howtothehway

Come with me as I start over.. My way

This Thing Called Life One Word at a Time

"Never forget it is real people who live out such tales and bear the price of the telling, in grief and guilt and sorrow". -Jacqueline Carey

Coach Daddy

It's about fatherhood, futbol, and food.

Lorelai Losing It

I'm 19 and the only way I make sense of life is to write it down.

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Edwina's Episodes

A light-hearted look at life - in all its glory!

Her Headache

A place to express myself through writing. a way to make sense of it all. Life as I see it.

All In A Dad's Work

A part time stay home dad enjoying (nearly) every minute of it...

Ask Jana Leigh

Let's have a little girl talk ;)

Mental Break - In Progress

Please hold while I direct your call...

DebWasHere

Because you need more than my fingerprints

World of Horror

A place for writers and book lovers

In Love With An Inmate

He told me it wasn't going to be easy; he was right.

LetsFuckingBlog

My rambling thoughts about nothing special

Jeremy's Journey

Living with brain cancer

survivor road

a survivor of childhood sexual abuse

city winds

i'm no artist; i'm just messy.

life and love

my attempt at life and love, the ups and downs and the boring bits in between.

Bitch Fit

In our world, divide and conquer must become define and empower. - Audre Lorde

Poorly Thought Out Thoughts

You don't have to say everything that pops into your head, but you can blog about it.

The Fallen Angel Mommy

Here I will blog about my life, and any subject im passionate about (Probably quite a bit about my child, and any future children) I will use this site to vent my feelings, share thoughts and ideas, and meet new people. Criticism is welcome, and encouraged. Please be brutal.

The Write Perspective

One author's journey...

The Big Girl's Guide

To Love, Sex and Self Confidence

Do you work here? --- H.M.Peña

Much ado about retail.

TELEMAZING

By TV Fans. For TV Fans.

